Date: Sat, 14 Jun 2003 07:45:38 +1000 From: Matthew Sullivan To: Dean Anderson Cc: abuse@xo.com, hostmaster@uq.edu.au, David Shrimpton Subject: Re: Ref: Complaint regarding www.sorbs.net (209.220.100.158) Mr Anderson, As I said, if you think you have a case, go for it, it's your time and your money. You have the details of my legal representative you have a contact address for me. If you continue cc'ing random people at UQ you will be barred from sending mail to UQ. In fact I have cc'd this to David Shrimpton and am recomending that he block all mail from yourself and av8.com for continuing the abuse even to your last mail. Dean Anderson wrote: >Since your www.dnsbl.sorbs.net is hosted and supported by The University >of Queensland, they are a party to the abuse conducted, and they may be a >party to any suit brought against this activity. > > SORBS has a contract with UQ for connectivity. UQ are SORBS' ISP. >I suspected that you might be the only one to deal with email issues for >the UQ. That is why someone at the Univiserity besides yourself should be >cc'd. I would cc the Provost, but I couldn't find an address for them. >Your assistance is needed to obtain that address. > > I am not the only one dealing with mail at UQ, there is a team, I am just one of the senior people dealing with it. As such postmaster and abuse mails are dealt with appropriately and professionally. >The information I included about the domain sorbs.net is correct. The same >SORBS organization (possibly unincorporated) runs the subdomains of >SORBS.NET. SORBS is not an ISP, and cannot claim it is not responsible for >the content of the subdomains. Your attempts at diversion are fruitless. > No you are incorrect. I registered the domain SORBS.NET for the software on the http://www.sorbs.net/ site. The subdomain dnsbl.sorbs.net has been loaned indefinately and without charge to the SORBS company. SORBS is not an ISP. SORBS is however a non-profit company with no assets, no income and no debts, if you get your lawyers to do their home work, you can easily find out it's details. Perhaps you would like to join the other SORBS sponsors on the action as well, there is a list on the sponsors page, bear in mind, that the page needs updating as Sun Microsystems have recently donated use of all the new machinary behind the SORBS firewall. >Also, I "have not confirmed that the OSF doesn't exist anymore". This is a >further (quite obvious, I might add) false statement. > Well your definitions of merger must differ from that of mine, you see when more than one company merges to form another, it is gernerally known in my country that the original companies no longer exist. Only when they are taken over (bought out) and the companies become 'wholly owned subsidiaries' of a parent do they still exist, this is not the same as a merger. >It is not up to me to prove that your statements are false before you are >not allowed to make them. It is your responsiblity to avoid making false >statements. > > > If you wish to change the opinion of SORBS from suspicion of hijacking the netblocks in question and therefore having the SORBS hostnames removed from the database, you are not going the right way about it. You will need to show verifiable proof that you did not hijack the netblock. If you continue to refuse to disclose it, SORBS and myself will remain of the opinion that you infact have no proof because the block is stolen/hijacked. SORBS does not need to prove that you have stolen/hijacked the netblock to create hostnames in its own domain, in fact SORBS can list hostnames in it's own domain at it's pleasure, and without reason if it feels like. On a final note, you will find that stating suspicion of something is considered an 'opinion' under Australian Law, and like American law, people and companies have the right to state an opinion regardless as to whether it is true or false. Consider yourself on notice, further use of my email server is not permitted, that includes the use of SORBS' email server, for this frivolous banter. Whilst it has been entertaining it is now taking up too much of my time. As you have been asked not to send further mails of this nature, further emails will render youself libel for criminal prosecution under the Computer Misuse laws of Australia. Also, as you have been asked not to send further email, for the second time, sending mail to either myself or other random parties at UQ will have you considered as a sender of unsolicited email. Neither SORBS nor UQ make definition that spam is anything but unsolicited email and therefore your netblock will be libel for addition to the SORBS list for senders of spam. (Which SORBS will state (statement not an opinion) is true - "persons, companies or netblocks sending spam to an address of a SORBS feeder server") Further correspondance should be made by postal mail to myself or in the case of legal documents to my legal representative, as indicated in my last email. If you wish to provide the verifiable proof that OSF gave/sold you the netblocks in question you are welcome to forward such proof, by email if possible, to myself using email at this address. (This is an invitation and therefore such proof email will not be considered unsolicited) Yours Matthew